We understand why users do not like apps to use their GPS location when they don't need it!
When you want to use your helmet for navigation or alerts, while your phone is locked, in a pocket or bag, Android can consider the app to be "not in use". Allowing access to location "All the time" ensures the app can reliably get your location even when locked. If you'd like to limit the app to only allow when the app is open*, on some handsets your location information will not update, and navigation and alerts might not function well.
Good news is, the Forcite app doesn't actually use your location "All the time". When you close the app it will stop using location information. It's easy to know when it the Forcite app is accessing the GPS - it shows up as an item in your notification tray.
Once you exit the app it will stop using your location, with no GPS use or battery drain.